AME Leadership


The AME Center Directors, Faculty, Postdoctoral Scholars, Staff, and Core Collaborators share the goal of improving the ‘healthspan’ of individuals and communities, from conception to the 'golden years'.

Our leaders focus on understanding how enhancing emotion regulation and coping mechanisms as well as daily lifestyle and restorative behaviors, including sleep, physical activity, social connectivity and purpose in life may improve biological and psychological resilience to aging. Our award winning research is funded by private foundations and National Institute of Health (NIH).

The AME Center Staff also includes biostatisticians, clinical research coordinators, and emerging scholars who support AME’s research studies and programms.

Click here to join our team and find out about internship opportunities. 

AME Center Directors


Alexandra Crosswell, PhD

Asst Professor

Jennifer Felder, PhD

Asst Professor

Carter Lebares, MD

Asst Professor

Jue Lin, PhD

Director of the Telomere Biology Core Lab

Ashley Mason, PhD

Asst Professor

Danielle Roubinov, PhD

Asst Professor

Janet Wojcicki, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor

Owen Wolkowitz, MD


Postdoctoral Scholars


Elissa Hamlat, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Stefanie Mayer, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Rachel Radin, PhD

Assistant Adjunct Professor

AME Staff

Elnaz Ahmadi

Assistant Clinical Research Coordinator

Elena Fromer, BA

AME Lab Manager, Clinical Research Coordinator

Joanna Guan

Clinical Research Coordinator

Bresh Merino

Assistant Clinical Research Coordinator

Julie Vaccaro

Clinical Research Coordinator

Core Collaborators

Nancy Adler, PhD

Professor and Vice Chair

Wolfram Alderson

Social Impact Advisor

Kirstin Aschbacher, PhD

Associate Professor

Nicki Bush, PhD

Associate Professor

David H. Chae, ScD, MA

Associate Professor

Tomas Cabeza de Baca, PhD

Teaching Faculty

Eve Ekman, PhD, MSW

Director of the Greater Good Science Center

Melissa Hagan, PhD

Asst Professor

Synthia Mellon, PhD

Recall Professor

Wendy Berry Mendes, PhD

Sarlo/Ekman Endowed Chair in the Study of Human Emotion

Aoife O'Donovan, PhD

Asst Professor

Matt Pantell, MD, MS

Asst Professor

Cliff Saron, PhD



Hiba Abousleiman, M_Osher Center

Justine Arenander, UC Berkeley

Nicky Barua, Social Media Intern

Annaliese Beery, PhD, Smith College

Rashida Brown, PhD,

Lahnna Catalino, PhD, Scripps

Sylvia Cheng, Center for Health and Community

Kimberly Coleman-Phox, MPH, UCSF

Nikko Da Paz, PhD, M_CHC-General

Anita Eskildsen, MSC, AARHUS University, Denmark

Elsea Esparza, UC Davis

Sarah Fisher, M_Osher Center

Amanda Gilbert, M_Psychiatry

Lisa Groesz, PhD, Private Practice

Emily Goard Jacobs, PhD , UC Santa Barbara

Eve Kupferman, PhD, UCSF

Kimberly Lockwood, PhD, M_CHC-General

Anthony Meza, UC Berkeley

Erin Nakahara, M_CHC-General

Belinda Needham, PhD, MA, University of Michigan

Samantha Schleicher, M_Osher Center

Olivia Shin, M_CHC-General

George Slavich, PhD, UCLA

Angie To, UC Berkeley

Janet Tomiyama, PhD, UCLA

Angela Wackerly, Clinical Research Coordinator